Projects, Finished and Works In…

Finished:

I finished the dress I’ll be wearing to my cousin’s wedding, which isn’t until July.  I’m kicking myself in the butt for making it when it is soooooooo cold outside, because I want to wear it now and I can’t because I will freeze to death.  It has a beautiful open back that ties at the top and zips at the bottom.  Almost Finished:

I dove right in to my new pattern stash and decided to make a wearable muslin out of  M5881 and I love it so far, it fits really well (I cut a 6).  I need to stitch the top lining down and hem it and then I’m finished with this one. (This one didn’t take very long, I cut it out two nights ago and put the whole thing together last night in under an hour).

This is the second ruffled plaid shirt I’ve made and I like this one better, I made a few mistakes on the first one and the fabric was really cheap and pilled all over the place the first time I wore it out :(.  I did get alot of complements on it when I wore it, so I splurged on some better fabric and made it carefully this time and it is soooooo much better than the first one.  I still need to do the button holes, sew on the buttons, and hem it.

Half-Way There:

I cut this out on Friday and have been sewing it a little bit before work and a little bit after work and I’ll probably do the same with school starting up again tomorrow.  I have the front bodice and skirt attached and I still need to put the darts in the back skirt and attach it to the back bodice, sew and attach the lining and then put in the zipper and hem it.  This is my first attempt at a fully lined dress and I bought cheap polyester lining that I already hate.  Does anyone know of any alternatives?

I just got a shipment of new fabric in from Fabric.com and I can’t wait to dive into that.  I got 6.5 yds of cream jersey, 2 yds of green and black buffalo plaid cotton, and 2 yds of Heather Ross Mendicino sea horses in natural.  I can’t wait to get started with this stuff.

One response

  1. Hi there!

    I found your blog after searching for Vogue 1102. I’m making it at the moment, and I always like to see other’s versions of projects! Yours is beautiful; it looks just like the envelope picture. The only thing that would make it better is seeing it on an actual person!

    I hope you get a lot of compliments on it when you wear it out.

    Garnet

Leave a Reply

