I’m so rebelious :)

I have a few rules for myself:

  1. Don’t wear navy and black together.
  2. Don’t sew clothes with quilter’s cotton.
  3. Don’t wear red and black together (BOO UGA)

And readers I have broken #2.  I’m such a rebel.

When I bought this fabric (Heather Ross Mendocino Seahorses in Natural) I had ZERO intention to make clothes with it.  One of the biggest mistakes I made when I started sewing was making clothes in quilter’s cotton.  I planned on making a passport cover and a HUGE beach bag for my cruise that I went on in March.  I got the passport cover finished but never got around to the beach bag.  So I still had 2 yds of this fabric sitting in my stash. 

A few weeks ago I decided that I was in desperate need of Me-Made tops.  I thought about participating in Made-By-Rae’s Spring Top Week but it coincided with final exams so that didn’t happen.  I came across this Vogue Pattern at a sale at Hancock fabrics and I  thought of the seahorse fabric I had sitting in my stash. 

V8595

I didn’t have quite enough fabric to make the pattern as it was intended so I did short sleeve and shortened the length of the tunic by about and inch and a half.  When I was finished except for the hem I tried it on and it was a little tight around the hips so I opened up the side seams by 6.5” from the bottom.  I like it a lot and I’m thinking about adding some beading around the neackline. 

Snapshot_20100518_4Snapshot_20100518_8Snapshot_20100518_9

As for breaking my own rule, this particular quilter’s cotton was super soft and I love wearing it 🙂

4 responses

  1. I just found your blog today and love it =) I am in college also and am starting my own blog this summer. It’s all about refashioning and sewing as well…all things therapeutic.

    I will definitely keep reading and good luck!
    By the way, I love your rule number 3. I am a Techie through and through =)

Leave a Reply

