Vintage Pattern=Cute Denim Top

I made this a few weeks ago, intending for it to be one of my WR blouses but I hated it when it was finished.  The neckline was very poofy and I was just going to throw away the top and try to make a skirt out of the bottom.  However this weekend I’ve been trying out wearing handmade clothes to work, yesterday I wore my white Sencha and today I’ll be wearing this top.  I like it now, because I ironed the you know what out of the top and it isn’t poofy, it is exactly how I envisioned it.

I made it from this pattern, that I borrowed from my neighbor (she has tubs of vintage patterns from when she was in high school and college).  I eliminated the sleeves to make this version.

The pattern was really easy, I don’t want to ruin any of these borrowed patterns (and I want a copy to keep for myself when I return them to her) so I’ve been tracing the pieces onto yellow tracing paper and keeping them with a sketch of the pattern in ziploc baggies.  I just realized as I was typing this that  don’t have copies of the instructions so I should probably type up the instructions!

I’ll be counting this one towards my SSS goals now, since I didn’t count it for WR.

2 responses

  1. I really like that top. It’s a keeper- but not for me. I need more skin showing but I could probably drop the neck a little lower.

    Amazing how a little ironing helps. I have been guilty of throwing my wrinkled skirts inn the dryer on very low with a wet or damp something for a few minutes and pulling it out and shaking it good. Sometimes that works but not as good as really ironing. You are too young to remember the bunch of damp clothes wrapped in a towel in the frig – I don’t know that I have ever done that but my mother used to. Really helps get the wrinkles out of linen, etc.

    Linda

  2. it’s lovely! it totally reminds me of some of the tops in the built by wendy spring line which make me go ga-ga. sleeveless, curved yoke, worn tunic-like or perfect for tucking. win-win 🙂

Leave a Reply

