100 posts! Pattern Giveaway, Summer Essentials Wrap-up!

Hi readers sorry for the long break, I went on vacation and when I got back I jumped straight into packing/working/life and was in a funky mood.  So onto the 100th post festivities, I’m giving away a vintage pattern!

Its the one pictured above, the three armhole dress.

Here’s the pattern info:

Size: 16-18

Bust: 36-38

To enter the giveaway leave a comment, any comment (except spam) and I will choose a random comment on Wednesday, August 18th at 11am.  US only please, I know this sucks, but I can’t afford international shipping on a college student budget.

I swore to you guys that I’d have my poolside pretty done by the time I went to Lake Burton on the 8th and I finished it in the final seconds before I left.

Here is the front, I used a vintage pattern that I purchased on Etsy, from rosesvintagesewing, the price was good, the pattern was in wonderful condition and it arrived promptly, I was very pleased with my purchase and I recommend this shop (I’m not being paid or receiving any gifts or compensation for saying this). 

The pattern was Simplicity 7700 from 1968 and it was the perfect size! 

I used red with white polka dot cotton, since the pattern called for cottons and cotton blends (I was skeptical of the stretch) and it worked out really well, all the pieces are cut on the bias and the top and bottom are completely lined, I also used a thin poly swim bra on the top just to provide some extra support.

The back closes with 2 buttons, I used white buttons, when I first placed the buttons they were a little snug as you can see in the picture but when I got the suit wet, the fabric did stretch out a little and the top got loose, so I think I’ll add two more buttons so that I can tighten it in the water.

I did do some alterations, The bottoms came up way to high for my preferences but I realized this too late so I just used some scraps and made little ties to pull the bottom together at the hips.

How are your summer essentials coming along?  Are all of you (that are participating) ready for SSS?  I’m not, I have alot more sewing to do before September 1!

P.S. tomorrow is my birthday 🙂

7 responses

  1. Great swim suit ! That’s a good idea to use a bra for a lining.

    That water looks so good. When I see our turtle swimming around, I am envious – he seems to have such fun!

    Please give me a chance to win that pattern. I can think of all sorts of ideas. Maybe a jumper for fall with a long sleeved top, or maybe a sort of apron or smock for painting or teaching, or a cool summer dress for our weather which I am expecting to last on up into September. The bust sounds like it might fit.

  2. Happy Birthday!
    That’s a really cute swimsuit, both fabric and pattern suit you really well. 🙂
    I’ve also got a lot of sewing to do before SSS, even though I’m doing SSS light…

Leave a Reply

