SSS Day 3!

Sorry for the late post, I wanted to get a shot of my dress in action today and I just got home! 

Please forgive the face, the sun was blindingly bright on the one day I can’t find my sunglasses, usually they are glued to my head!  I wore the red wrap dress that I made for a friend’s wedding back in June.  I like this dress because I can dress it up or down depending on the occasion, today was dressed down with flip flops and a messy bun, you may see it later in the month more dressed up.

And now for something completely different!

I really love living in such a diverse part of the world.  Tonight my friends and I went to an international farmer’s market and made a delicious meal that would be hard to make without access to such a wonderful, diverse market.

Every so often we decide to try something new and crazy, tonight was alligator meat!  Being from the south alligator isn’t totally out there but it isn’t something we would normally eat and we definitely prepared it in interesting ways.  With 2 lbs of alligator meat we made alligator tacos (using chicken seasoning) with avocado, and all the usual taco fixin’s, we also made alligator spring rolls (with cabbage and carrots too!) which were delicious!  I recommend making them if you have access to alligator meat and spring roll wrappers.  We also enjoyed some asian mini bananas which are sweeter than regular bananas and we tried dragonfruit.

We were a little disappointed with the dragonfruit because to be honest it tasted like water and had the texture of slightly rotten canteloupe.  But we may have picked a bad one because we have no idea what the criteria for a good dragonfruit are.

I wish I had taken pictures of the dinner!

One response

Leave a Reply

