Little Hexies Update

I started that Hexagon quilt back in July and I have made a ton of progress on it in the past two weeks.  I’ve been running around like a crazy person with wedding planning appointments in the past two weeks and on all my trips I’ve carried my little hexagon box that carries all the supplies I need to work on the hexies.

It has my stack of 3.5″ squares and my stack of paper 1.5″ hexagons.  My needle, thread and scissors.  My progress sheet and pen for keeping track of  how the quilt is coming together.

I currently have 209 hexagons made, 94 of those are pieced and I hope to have at least 100 pieced by the end of the day.  I have slowed down a lot on piecing because I don’t have enough hexagons to continue making flowers in the same color without it containing fabrics from the same collection.   So I’m holding off on a lot of piecing until I get more charm packs.

Speaking of charm packs, does anyone know of some charm packs that have good secondary colors?  Most of the ones I’ve bought have red, blue, yellow and a few have green, but I need more pinks and oranges and purples.  I want my quilt to look very colorful so I need a mix of color.

On the left is my progress sheet, as I sew more hexagons on to my main sheet I shade them in so I know where to put them next.  In the middle (obvi) are my loose hexagons, and on the right are more paper hexagons for me to cut.

 

One response

  1. You can find a bunch of charm packets on eBay and Etsy. I’ve been picking up packs of 50 and 100 here and there to expand my personal collection. I get 4 x 4 squares for my 2″ hexagons. I still don’t know how big my quilt will be, but I’ll know I’m done when I’m done.

Leave a Reply

