Creamy Asparagus and Potato Soup

I LOVE soup and I like to come up with my own recipes, based on what I have in the fridge and pantry when I’m craving soup.

Yesterday I made a big pot of creamy asparagus and potato soup, here’s the recipe I came up with:

1 pound asparagus, cut off and throw away woody ends, cut the remainder into thirds

5 cups chicken stock (or water for vegetarians)

5 or 6 saffron stems

1 tbsp olive oil

2 cloves garlic, smashed

Bring these ingredients to a boil, cook until asparagus is bright green (about 10 minutes).  Remove from heat.

Add 2 cups of instant potato flakes, stir well.  Puree in a food processor or blender (I have to do this in batches as I have a very small food processor).   Return to low heat, add 1/4th cup of heavy cream.  Let simmer, add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

