NL6808, Spring Palette Progress

The darts are sewn in and the front and back are pinned together.  I’m waiting until I have some serger skills to do the seams, then hopefully this lovely voile will last more than a few rounds in the wash because the seams will be nicely finished.

This is my 3rd time using this pattern, but my first time with this version.  I’ve made 2 of version E, the sleeveless with the big collar and bow.  Both of the Es I’ve made were made of slightly stretchy fabric so I eliminated the side zipper and made the top a little big so it could slip over my head.  This voile has no stretch so I’m doing the side zip this time, I think the top might be too big so I might have to take it in (I’m making the smallest size in this pattern, 8 and I usually make a 6 in other patterns and take it in a bit).

I also think I should flat set the sleeves since I’m going to use the serger, it might be easier than trying to set them in the round.  Thoughts?

This fabric has been a dream so far, its so smooth and easy to work with.  I had originally planned on going with quilting cotton for 2 other garments in the challenge but now I think the voile is totally worth the extra money!  I might stick with the plain cotton on the Chantilly dress, overlock it and leave it unlined, because lined summer dresses in the Georgia heat are not the best decision.

4 responses

  1. It seems to me that the Chantilly pattern is the one that most demands light, airy voile over quilting cotton. Maybe you should look for some cotton lawn, similar to voile but a little thicker and less sheer?

Leave a Reply

