Ballgown…Disaster!

As previously mentioned I had a ball to go to on Saturday night, so I spent a good chunk of my spring break working on the ball gown that I started a while back.  I finally finished it Saturday morning before heading off to work.  I had tried it on several times as I was working because I knew I wouldn’t have time to do any major alterations after all was said and done.

It fit perfectly and everything was fine Saturday morning when I finished hand stitching the super huge hem.

I went to work, came back and had about 40 minutes to get ready, about 5 minutes before we’re going to leave I put my dress on, zip it up, turn to get my shoes and the zipper broke!  It came undone all the way down the bottom (22″zipper) as I tried to fix it the pull fell off too.

So I put normal clothes on ran over to Dillards and bought an emergency dress to wear to the ball.

I’m really disappointed that months of work on this gown all came apart because of a $2 zipper.  Later when I was telling people about it they asked why I chose such a cheap zipper and didn’t get a higher quality one.

The answer: I wasn’t offered a choice at the fabric store, there is only one brand of invisible zippers available at most fabric stores, unfortunately these zippers are cheap.

I’m thinking of ordering an assortment of higher quality zippers just to have on hand.

3 responses

  1. Oh my God – OH NO! I am so gutted for you, so sorry to hear what happened. I have to admit that I would often search out cheaper zips etc….now I’m thinking that the 50p saving is not worth the potential greater greif!

  2. Oh no! I hate it when that happens! (To be honest, I’ve never yet sewn a ballgown or had a zipper break on me, but I mean last-minute sewing disasters that mean you can’t wear the garment you were just about to finish…)

  3. Oh, how horrible! Your beautiful yellow ball gown. I hope the sub was at least passable. Well, now you have 2 ball gowns, right. Or you will have when you fix the zipper. Fix it soon (speaking from experience) or you’ll have one ball gown and one that was almost a beautiful memory but never got finished.

    What color was the new one? Red? Black?

    Linda

Leave a Reply

