The “why don’t I have more of these?” dress

Those were my words exactly, last night around 11pm when I finished this and tried it on.

Yesterday I started and finished Simplicity 2443, one of their Cynthia Rowley patterns in a dark red knit.  I bought the pattern and the fabric intending to make the dress in this fabric about two years ago when the pattern first came out, but I also wanted to make the jacket and I kept waiting for the right fabric to come along and I never found what I was looking for so the pattern went to the back of my “to sew” pile.  Then when I decided to stash bust I pulled it out since I have the fabric ready for the dress.

Things I altered: I cut about 2 inches off the bottom, eliminated the interfacing and the zipper.  I pleated the skirt instead of gathering it, I’m not really sure why but I’m kind of turned off by gathers right now.

I will definitely use this pattern again, but next time I’m going to use a thicker knit as this one already has a hole in it!  Next time I’ll also bring the whole bodice up about an inch, the straps are gaping a bit when I sit down.

STASHBUSTING REPORT:

Pieces of stash fabric used: 4 – black linen, quilting fabric for postage blocks, black knit used for a wadder, and this red knit. (7.5yards used)

Pieces of new fabric bought: 0!

I can buy more fabric! I’m pretty excited about getting some new fabric because most of my stash fabric is fall/winter fabric 😦

2 responses

  1. that’s so cute!! it’s a perfect 3 season (at least) pattern! personally, i prefer pleats to gathers as well.gathers just seem to stick out from my waist and add bulk whereas pleats can be ironed or tacked to lie nice and flat…

Leave a Reply

