I’m dreaming of an effortlessly chic wardrobe

I’ve been thinking alot lately about how to have an effortlessly chic wardrobe, about grabbing almost anything out of my closet, in any random combination and looking nice.  Of course I want as much of that wardrobe as possible to be handmade.  I think I got off to a good start with planning projects for the Spring Palette Challenge, even though I only completed 2 garments for the challenge.

I’d like to complete at least 3 new garments before I go to Paris, and here is what I’m thinking of:

  1. another black skirt – I know I just finished that linen one with the elastic waist and I loved it when it was finished,  but it looks kind of frumpy after going through the wash a few times.  I also made that black rayon skirt last summer and LOVED it…to death, it died a few weeks ago and I need a replacement go to black skirt.  I’m thinking something like this skirt from J. Crew.  I’m going patternless on this one, something I haven’t done in a while. (honestly i haven’t gone patternless in a while for the sole reason that I’m out of pattern paper, lame, I know)
  2. A boatneck t-shirt with cute buttons on the shoulders!  I have been eyeing this project in SEW U Homestretch since I bought the book.  I have some cream jersey thats been taking up one of my bolts that would make a nice t-shirt and I have tons of buttons laying around.  Also cream goes with almost everything
  3. A dress, probably the Lisette passport dress, maybe even a few of those in a few different colors, or one solid, one all over print and one with contrasting colors/prints, if I have the time.
I also need to finish that secret project of mine.  I’d like to get the whole top done and get the sandwich basted together, then I can hand quilt and bind it on the 2 long plane rides I have coming up, or if I get the top finished early enough I can machine quilt it and hand bind it on the plane.  Either way that quilt is coming with me to occupy me on the plane.  The only other hand sewing project that I’m working on is way too super secret to bring on the plane (hint: its something for the wedding that I can’t let Lee see)
Speaking of the wedding, head over to kati365 to see my little seedlings that will hopefully be my wedding flowers.
What are the effortlessly chic items in your wardrobe, or the ones you wish you had?
Leave a Reply

